Primary Menu

Music News

Last night (8/21) at the 2019 ACM Honors in Nashville, Miranda Lambert received the ACM’s Gene Weed Milestone Award, which goes every year to an artist who has had a particularly outstanding achievement during the preceding year.

Keith Urban presented her the award saying in part about her, “You made the records you wanted to make. You stayed true to yourself, and here you are accepting this award.”

An emotional Miranda accepted the award saying, “I am so humbled. I’m standing on this Ryman stage in front of one of my heroes. I mostly just want to thank Nashville, and the people who move here because they loved country music. I couldn’t believe that we’d get to live this amazing life and follow our dreams and just be part of this awesome family. Some days it feels like I’ve been doing it for two days, and some days it feels like 200 years. And I’ll never get over it.”

Past recipients of the Gene Weed Milestone Award include Jason Aldean, Kelsea Ballerini, Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan, George Burns, Kenny Chesney, Jeff Foxworthy, Merle Haggard, Gayle Holcomb, Sam Hunt, Loretta Lynn, Little Big Town, Willie Nelson, Jennifer Nettles, Blake Shelton, George Strait, Taylor Swift, and Carrie Underwood.

Lambert was already the most-awarded artist in the history of the ACM Awards, and this win marked her 33rd.